Friday, December 21, 2012

2013 American Mathematical Society Prizes

The 2013 American Mathematical Society have been announced. I don't remember seeing them announced this much before the Joint Mathematics Meetings before.

There are some winners from the home team (by which I mean dynamical systems). Yasha Sinai won the Steele Prize for lifetime achievement, and John Guckenheimer and Phil Holmes received the Steele Prize in exposition for their famous book (which continues to be a useful reference for researchers several decades after its release). Very nice and richly deserved!

No comments: