Thursday, February 03, 2011

Moser and Crawford Prizes in Dynamical Systems for 2011

The SIAM Activity Group on Applications of Dynamical Systems has announced the recipients of the Jürgen Moser Lecture prize and J. D. Crawford Prize for 2011.

The Moser Lecture prize is for lifetime achievement in dynamical systems, and the 2011 recipient of this prize is Jim Yorke. This is richly deserved. (Yorke is the one who coined the term "chaos", by the way.)

The Crawford Prize is for recent work in dynamical systems. The winner for 2011 is Eric Vanden-Eijnen. I have heard of him before, but I am essentially unfamiliar with his work, so I can't really make any comments other than to state that he won the prize.

No comments: