Monday, November 11, 2013

2013 Baseball Rookies of the Year

As described in this story, Wil Myers won the 2013 American League Rookie of the Year award, and Jose Fernandez won the National League Rookie of the Year award. I wasn't sure how the former would go (although the ESPN pundits voted for Myers overwhelmingly, and he is the correct winner), but the latter was pretty damn obvious. Fernandez was fantastic and is going to finish very high in the NL Cy Young award voting as well. (It is already known that he is in the top 3.) Yasiel Puig finished 2nd in the NL voting, which also is not a surprise.

Update (11/12/13): The full rank ordering (and weighted number of votes) is available on this website.

No comments: