Thursday, November 19, 2015

Jake Arrieta and Dallas Keuchel Win 2016 Cy Young Awards

Baseball's Cy Young Awards were announced yesterday.

Jake Arrieta of the Chicago Cubs won in the National League, and Dallas Keuchel of the Houston Astros won in the American League.

Arrieta received 17 of the 30 first-place votes and 169 points in total. Zach Greinke of the Dodgers finished second with 147 points (with 10 first-place votes), and Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers finished in third with 101 points (with 3 first-place votes). I figured that Arrieta would win, given the storyline and his dominance in the second half of the season, but I think Greinke deserved the award very slightly more than Arrieta.

Keuchel received 22 of 30 first-place votes and 186 points in total. David Price (of the Detroit Tigers and then Toronto Blue Jays) came in second with 143 points (with 8 first-place votes), and Sonny Gray of the Oakland Athletics finished third with 82 points.

The complete vote tallies are available on this page.

No comments: